The BBC has published a new article today on the potential crisis facing many of England’s regional museums as they are reeling from the 25% cuts they have been dealt by the Conservative governement’s new austerity measures.  While a small majority are trying to see the positive and hope to utilize the cuts as a springboard for intense reform, most of the museums are bemoaning the reduced hours, staff, and resources they enjoyed during England’s Renaissance program.  (Click here to read the full article).

This is actually a topic rather near and dear to me, as I did my Master’s dissertation on the sustainability of England’s art museums.  I have decided to do a short series on some of the measures I learned about from my research for my paper in the coming weeks, so stay tuned for my ideas on how England’s art museums can sustain themselves through this downturn.

