It has been a long time between posts, I’m afraid.  This last semester has been rather hectic and I am only just now catching up on everything I would like to do, like blogging, sleeping, what have you.

And of course, reading.

I finally finished this wonderful book The Art Detective: Fakes, Frauds and Finds in the Search for Lost Treasures by Philip Mould.  It is a great introduction not only to the thrilling potential of the art chase, but also to the personalities involved in the buying and selling of art on either side of the sale.  Mr. Mould’s keen observation of paintings and people clearly stand out in this book, and for me the narrative really brought the stories and discoveries to life.  From the eccentric Anglophile who propped up portraits in pews to faked Rockwells and rediscovered Homers, this book is filled with fascinating anecdotes that truly demonstrate that portraiture can be anything but dull anonymous paintings. In fact my only complaint is that he hasn’t written a sequel (or that I don’t know what happened to the last discovered painting in the book, I won’t spoil the surprise but it’s a rather interesting legal jurisdiction case).

In short, I would strongly recommend this book to all you would be art sleuths out there.  And if you happen to find out what happened to that last painting, do let me know.

